Cumberland River

I have completed the Cumberland River portion of my trip.  By far my favorite part was the upper section between Celina, TN and Cordell Hull Dam. This area was remote and undeveloped.  The water was cool and clean.

Old Lake Hickory was also a beautiful lake. I wish that I had explored a little more. Some of the homes that lined it’s shores were amazing. From what I understand several celebrities own, or owned homes on the lake. Some include Reba McEntire, Dolly Pardon, Johnny & June Cash.

One thing that surprised me was the stretch between Old Hickory Dam and Nashville. It was narrow with a lot industries along it’s shores. There were not many homes with docks or people swimming, skiing or such. Once I was several miles outside of Nashville that all changed again.

m139_cumberland

4 thoughts on “Cumberland River

  1. We have a State Park on Old Lake Hickory called Long Hunter SP. Lots of money pours into that park because of all the famous country singers!

Leave a comment